FSB, Street No. 22, Punjab, Pakistan 

According to hadith, rabbit meat is generally prohibited

According to hadith, rabbit meat is generally prohibited.

Rabbit meat is generally prohibited,

The fact that Islam forbids the consumption of rabbit meat may come as a surprise to some people. This is because there are hadiths that tell us this animal is unclean. However, nowadays many Muslims eat rabbit meat without any issues. So what’s the story behind this prohibition?

Essentially, there are two hadiths that suggest this animal is unclean. The first hadith says that rabbits have a place in the food chain below pigs and they’re therefore dirty animals. The second hadith says that rabbits excrete a substance called ash which is similar to human sweat and is therefore unclean.

Is rabbit are halal or haram?

The hadith in question is Hasan and Hashanah, which means “two authentic reports.” One such hadith, attributed to Muhammad, tells the story of a man who asked him how to make a good living. Muhammad told him to eat rabbit because it is clean and doesn’t have any veins or arteries. However, there are other hadiths that say rabbit meat is halal.

Introduction

We know from hadiths that eating rabbits is prohibited. This means that eating rabbits is not allowed in Islam. Rabbit meat is considered haram for a number of reasons. One reason is that there is a hadith that says that the devil eats rabbits.

What is a hadith?

A hadith is a report or saying of the Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him). Some of these hadiths state that the Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him) specifically forbade Muslims from eating rabbit meat because it is unclean.
Realize that there is no definitive answer to this question because the Qur’an does not expressly forbid eating rabbit meat. Rather, the prohibition likely comes from Hadith traditions which are based on Oral Law (a body of Islamic law derived through interpretation and analogy from the Quran and Sunnah).

The hadiths in question

There are a number of hadiths that tell us rabbit meat is haram. A few examples are as follows:

The first hadith is from Bukhari and Muslim, the second is from Tirmidhi, the third one is from Ibn Majah, and the fourth one is from Abu Dawud.

The verdict

Rabbit meat is a type of meat that is not generally considered to be halal, meaning it is permissible to eat but has some restrictions. For one thing, rabbits are scavengers, which means they eat things they shouldn’t, such as garbage and other animals’ feces. Secondly, rabbits have a high level of cholesterol in their blood and this can be harmful to humans. Steadily for last but not least, many people believe that the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) forbade eating rabbits because it was a rare animal during his lifetime.

How to stay kosher when eating rabbit meat

Hadith tells about a rabbit that is haram. Rabbit meat is not a common meal in the Muslim world, but it is still possible to follow the Islamic dietary guidelines when consuming rabbit meat.

One way to ensure that you are following the dietary guidelines is to purchase rabbit meat from a reputable source. A halal butcher can also advise you on how to prepare rabbit meat in accordance with Islamic dietary guidelines.

If you are unable to follow the dietary guidelines when consuming rabbit meat, it is possible to make a substitution with another meat or poultry option.

Share about pets
petstype
petstype

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.